Sainz hit with Japanese GP grid drop for impeding Hamilton

Williams driver Carlos Sainz has been slapped with a three-place grid penalty for Sunday’s Japanese Grand Prix for... The post Sainz hit with Japanese GP grid drop for impeding Hamilton appeared first on F1i.com.

Apr 5, 2025 - 12:03
 0
Sainz hit with Japanese GP grid drop for impeding Hamilton

Williams driver Carlos Sainz has been slapped with a three-place grid penalty for Sunday’s Japanese Grand Prix for impeding Ferrari’s Lewis Hamilton during qualifying at Suzuka.

The incident occurred in Q2 when Hamilton, charging into Turn 1 on his final flying lap, encountered Sainz lingering in the middle of the track.

Forced to abort his lap and swerve into the runoff area, the Scuderia chager’s session was compromised.

Sainz, who was replaced by Hamilton at Ferrari this season, claimed he had no warning of the approaching car and was caught off guard.

Despite his explanation, the FIA stewards upheld the penalty, which drops Sainz – who narrowly missed advancing to Q3 –.from 12th to 15th on Sunday’s grid.

Stewards’ Verdict in Full

The stewards’ ruling highlighted the team’s responsibility to manage traffic awareness:

"Car 55 [Sainz] was on an in-lap after having completed a push lap when Car 44 [Hamilton] was starting its push lap, and Car 44 had to move off track to avoid Car 55 in Turn 1.

“The driver of Car 55 stated that he did not have any warning from the team, of the approach of Car 44 on a push lap. He stated that he was caught completely by surprise and, because of the approach speed of Car 44, and the angle of his car, he could not see Car 44 in his mirrors.

“However, notwithstanding the above, the team had ample warning that Car 44 was on an out-lap whilst Car 55 was on its push lap.

“Also, more than 8 seconds elapsed from when it was obvious Car 44 was not going into the pits, and hence was going to start a push lap, and when Car 55 could have taken appropriate action if the driver had been warned by the team.

“It is noted that the standard penalty guideline for this offence during qualifying, irrespective of whether it was the fault of the driver or the team, is a three-grid position penalty, and therefore the stewards find that the standard penalty should be applied."

Meanwhile, Sainz’s teammate Alex Albon will line up ninth on Sunday’s starting grid.

Read also: Williams' Vowles urges FIA to extinguish Suzuka’s grass fire woes

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via X and Facebook

The post Sainz hit with Japanese GP grid drop for impeding Hamilton appeared first on F1i.com.